If you bought a vehicle, then you need to consider proceeding to the registration process in the State of Michigan. After succeeding the vehicle registration, you need to get a license plate for it. Getting a license plate is not so difficult. But it is a step you need to be very careful about. The state has its own regulations upon the combinations of the future license plates. So, the Department of Transportation can refuse your chosen license plate. This can happen if the plate is not appropriate according to state law.
There are 2 separate license plates’ types in the State of Michigan:
The first type is for almost all the owners of vehicles in Michigan. On the other hand, the second is mostly for the groups and different organizations that own a vehicle.
You may apply for the plate online, via Email, or in person. To look up your license plate, you may visit the Michigan Department of Transportation in person. You may also look it up online.
The fees for the license plates can vary from $5 to $448 (this includes also a 3-year renewal fee).
The license plates in the state can have seven characters. Yet, there are some types which design allows to have only six.
Choosing an appropriate vanity plate is not so easy as it requires you to be very attentive. So, there are some points that you should follow while applying for the wanted custom plate. Here is the list of the qualifications that are most likely to be rejected by the State Department of Transportation:
The vanity plate combinations can vary from state to state. But you may meet almost the same reasons for the rejection, for example, in the State of Connecticut.
Here you may see some prohibited combinations. The State Department of Transportation refused to approve them for a certain reason.
The fee for the custom plates is the same as for a regular plate. But it also contains an extra fee of $30. It is an annual fee for the service.